Jul 30, 2019 0

Top 5 Captains of the Indian Cricket Team

The India National Cricket Team, known as Men in Blue is one of the most popular teams in the world. They are governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC). For so many years, the team has made a lot of milestones witnessed by their fans. Their remarkable achievements wouldn’t have been made without their leaders. Here are the top 5 leaders of the Indian Cricket Team.

1. MS Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is considered as one of the greatest cricketers in the sport. Dhoni made his ODI debut in a match against Bangladesh in 2004. In 2007, he became the captain of the team, and during his captaincy, the team broke a lot of records. He led the team to win its first-ever bilateral ODI series victories. In 2013, the team became the first team to whitewash Australia in a Test series. He was a recipient of numerous awards such as the ICC ODI Player of the Year.

2. Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid is one of the greatest batsmen in cricket history. He is nicknamed ‘The Wall’. He has excellent techniques that led him to score a record of nearly 25,000 runs in international cricket. Dravid is the fourth-highest run-scorer in Test cricket.

3. Sunil Gavaskar

He is one of the greatest opening batsmen and Test batsmen who set world records during the 1970s and 1980s for the Bombay cricket team and the Indian national team. He is known for his impressive fast bowling techniques. His performance contributed to the team’s victory 1983 Cricket World Cup. Gavaskar is the first Test batsman to score 10,000 runs.

4. Sourav Ganguly

He is nicknamed God of the Off Side as he is one of the world’s leading batsmen and notably one of the greatest captains of the Indian Cricket Team. Ganguly had his breakthrough in the international cricket when India toured England, scoring 131 runs. As one of the most successful Test captains, he won 21 out of 49 test matches.

5. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is the current captain of the India national team. He succeeded as the Test captain after MS Dhoni’s retirement in 2014. He has a record of scoring the second-highest number of centuries. Recently, Kohli became the fastest batsman to score 11,000 runs in ODI cricket during the 2019 Cricket World Cup.